About AKBC


The Akwa Ibom Broadcasting Corporation, with the popular acronym AKBC was established by edict No. 4 of April 1988. The Corporation with its temporary headquarters at No. 3 Udo  Udoma Avenue, Uyo, transmits from Ntak Inyang, providing Television and Radio services.
The Radio Station christened, Radio Akwa Ibom, The Voice of Promise, transmits on the frequency 90.5FM and was inaugurated on 27th July 1991, by the then Military Governor of the State, Wing Cdr, Idongesit Nkanga.
The Television Service, popularly identified as, The Ultimate In Television Broadcasting, transmits on Channel 45UHF and was inaugurated on Tuesday, 23rd April, 1991 by the country’s former Military President, General Ibrahim Badamosi Babangida.


To be a one-stop station for the best in entertainment, news and programmes that creatively galvanize Akwa Ibom people and positively project the rich cultural heritage, cherished values and potentials of the State for enhanced image and respectability within and outside Nigeria.


To provide information, entertainment and educational services to the public, through professional Radio and Television Broadcasting that gives adequate expression to the culture, characteristics, and thinking of the Government and people of Akwa Ibom State.

The Radio and Television broadcast well researched programmes, which sensitize and mobilize the people to support the policies and programmes of the Government, and give exposure to the state’s rich cultural heritage.  Indeed the station’s programmes have enjoyed local, national and international acclaim. This culminated in the station’s winning of prizes at 2004, 2006 and 2008 editions of AFRICAST in Abuja.


The affairs of  the corporation is run by a Board of Directors. There are seven directorates viz:

1. Administration and Human Resources Development
2. Finance and Supplies
3. Programmes
4. News and Currents Affairs
5. Marketing
6. Engineering
7. Planning, Research and Statistics

The directorates are under the supervision of Directors who in turn report to the Director General/Chief Executive Officer.